top of page
圖表

Data Storytelling for Librarians

Research and Create Effective Data Tools with Professor Kate McDowell

Kate-McDowell-2022.jpg_itok=Gorr9sLf.jpg

Join Prof. Kate McDowell for

Data Storytelling for Librarians Research

Professor McDowell has worked with regional, national, and international nonprofits including the Pan-American Health Organization (PAHO, part of WHO) and the Public Library Association (PLA). Her nationally-funded project Data Storytelling Toolkit for Librarians is under development (https://imls.gov/grants/awarded/re-250094-ols-21).

 

In this workshop, you will learn

01

Strategies for communicating in story

02

How to combine information and emotion

03

Insights from real libraries and librarians

Upcoming Event

DSTL Launch Workshop

Sep 30, 2022

12:00 PM PDT/1:00 PM MDT/2:00 PM CDT/3:00 PM EDT

Zoom Webinar

Recommendations

LindaSmith.jpg

Linda Smith

Professor McDowell's work empowers individuals, organizations, and communities to take control of their own narratives and use the resources and tools at their disposal to connect authentically with their audiences

AnneCraig.jpg

Anne Craig

It is not just the content of her teaching that is significant, it is the manner in which she delivers this information. She is not only funny and warm, but also inviting of differing perspectives and inclusive of all participants, drawing listeners in and encouraging them to share their own experiences and questions. Her care is genuine; participants have reached out to her—always finding her accessible—repeatedly to find support and guidance

Turk-sq.jpg

Matt Turk

Students consistently rate the course as extremely impactful in their careers in information science, due largely to the approach Professor McDowell has embedded in it that provides not just concrete, practical applications of the material, but a broader, deeply compassionate and thoughtful mindset that guides student learning and trajectories

Collaboration/Collaborators

Screenshot_2-removebg-preview.png
bottom of page